AVA - David Marr Medal

2023 Award - Prof Manuel Spitschan of the Technical University of Munich

Every two years, the AVA invites nominations for the David Marr medal, which recognizes the achievements of an outstanding vision scientist in the early part of his or her research career. The award is named in memory of one of the United Kingdom’s most distinguished vision researchers.

The AVA is pleased to announce that

For his pioneering work on the photoreceptor contributions to human vision and non-visual functions, particularly concerning the melanopsin- and cone-mediated mechanisms contributing to visual perception, the pupillary light reflex, melatonin suppression and circadian phase shifting.

The Marr award 2023 will go to Prof Dr Manuel Spitschan of the Technical University of Munich and the Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics.

Press release for 2023 award -Prof Dr Manuel Spitschan

Press release for 2021 award -Dr Catherine Manning

Press release for 2018 award -Dr Jenny Bosten

Press release for 2016 award - Dr Daniel Baker

Press release for 2014 award - Dr Keith May

Press release for 2012 award - Dr Peter Neri

2010 and 2011 Marr Medals - Dr Andrew Welchman and Dr Hannah Smithson

2008 Marr Medal - Dr Petroc Sumner